Pomona-Pitzer To Host SCIAC Swimming+Diving Championships At South Gate Pool

Pomona-Pitzer To Host SCIAC Swimming+Diving Championships At South Gate Pool

South Gate, Calif. - The 2011-12 SCIAC Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, hosted by Pomona-Pitzer will be held this Sunday-Tuesday at the South Gate Pool, with preliminary rounds taking place on all three days beginning at 10 a.m., and championship rounds at night beginning at 5 p.m.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps is the defending SCIAC champion in both men's and women's swimming and diving, and is favored to repeat again this year after going undefeated in conference duals. While the Stags/Athenas will be tough to catch for the team titles, numerous swimmers from other SCIAC schools will also be vying for both individual championships and qualifying times for the NCAA Division III championships in Indianapolis.

On the women's side, CMS dominated the 2011 SCIAC Championships in Belmont, California, largely due to its clean sweep in the five relay competitions. Michele Kee had an impressive showing for the Athenas by winning six events, the 200-yard IM, the 100-yard butterfly, and the 100-yard freestyle in the individual competitions, and the 200-yard freestyle, 400-yard medley and 400-yard freestyle relays.

The other top two individual competitors on the women's side who are returning this year are Erin Bartholomew of Whittier and Caroline Chang of Occidental. Bartholomew won three individual events for the Poets, taking first in the 500-yard freestyle, the 400-yard individual medley and the 1650-yard freestyle. Chang swept the 100-yard and 200-yard breaststroke events for Occidental, while teammates Juliet Suess (200-yard freestyle) and Jessica Robson (3-meter diving) also won titles.

Lauren Zehner of Redlands is also a returning champion in the 200-yard butterfly, while Carmen Lundell won the one-meter diving event for Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.

On the men's side, Redlands returns more individual champions than CMS, but the Stags boast a deep line-up that still makes them the front-runner. Tyler Harp of Redlands won three individual events and two relays last year, coming in first in all three of the freestyle sprints (50-yard, 100-yard, 200-yard) and contributing to 200-yard freestyle and 800-yard freestyle relay wins.  

Collin Gladys of Redlands also won two individual events, taking first place in the 100-yard butterfly and the 200-yard individual medley, while teammate Christopher DePew won the 400-yard individual medley.

The breaststroke events were dominated by Vincent Pai of CMS, while Max Scholten of Pomona-Pitzer won close races in the two backstroke events. Scholten also finished just .01 behind Harp in the 50-yard freestyle in an exciting finish with three swimmers touching the wall virtually simultaneously (Sean Fitzgerald of CMS was .08 behind). Jordan Lieberman of CMS took first in the 200-yard butterfly.

Last year's men's diving champions were Tyler Aisner of Whittier in the one-meter, and Andrew Fevery of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps in the three-meter.

Log back on to www.sagehens.com later in the week for a SCIAC Championship home page for more information about the 2012 championship, featuring a schedule of events, psych sheets, links to last year's SCIAC Championship results, this year's top times, and more.