Sagehen Tennis Teams Earn All-Academic Honors From ITA

Sagehen Tennis Teams Earn All-Academic Honors From ITA

Claremont, Calif. - Both the Pomona-Pitzer Men's Tennis and Women's Tennis teams earned All-Academic awards from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), it was announced this week.

In addition, 12 members of the women's team and seven members of the men's team received individual Scholar-Athlete honors. Teams with at least a 3.2 grade point average qualify for the honor, while individuals with a 3.5 grade point average or higher earn the Scholar-Athlete award.

A total of 44 men's tennis teams nationally qualified for the team honor in Division III, while 90 women's teams earned the distinction.

On the women's side, 12 players earned their way on to the Scholar-Athlete team, including senior Kara Wang, who was one of the recipients of the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship earlier this summer. She was joined on the ITA Scholar-Athlete team by Priya Amritraj, Alex Antonoplis, Sammy Chao, Marissa Cohen, Mae Coyiuto, Marie Fleming, Jessica Hsu Arthi Padmanabhan, Claire Willey, Constance Wu and Lea Lynn Yen.

On the men's side, the senior class was welll-represented as Frankie Allinson, Joey DeBruin, Kevin Prescott and Max Sabel were all named to the Scholar-Athlete team, along with junior Chris Wiechert, sophomore Chris Walters, and freshman Tim Kannelitsas.

Both teams ended the year nationally ranked as well, with the Women's Tennis team finishing at No. 10 after reaching the NCAA West Regional finals and the Men's Tennis team ending the year ranked No. 19.