Women's Water Polo Stays Unbeaten In SCIAC

Women's Water Polo Stays Unbeaten In SCIAC

Claremont, Calif. - Sophomore goalie Ahsha Earwood (pictured) had 13 saves as the Pomona-Pitzer Women's Water Polo team won a battle of conference unbeatens 8-6 over Claremont-Mudd-Scripps on Wednesday evening, clinching the top seed in the SCIAC Tournament. 

With the win, the Sagehens are now 16-9 overall and 7-0 in the SCIAC, while CMS concludes SCIAC play at 7-1. Even if Pomona-Pitzer were to lose its final conference game at Cal Lutheran on Saturday, it would have the tiebreaker against the Athenas due to its head-to-head win. The Sagehens will host the SCIAC Tournament from April 24-26, looking to win their fourth title in a row.

The Sagehens were in control most of the way, taking a 5-1 lead into the half and building it up to 7-2 early in the fourth. CMS crept a little closer with back to back goals and had a 6-on-5 to try to come closer, but Earwood came up with a key save with just under 4:00 to play. After her 13th and final save, she threw an outlet pass that led to a goal from junior Megan Snow with 1:34 left to make the score 8-4 and essentially seal the win. CMS scored twice in the final minute to make the final score look a little closer.

Earwood also helped swing momentum late in the first half, when she saved a penalty shot with the score 4-1, and sophomore Chessa Burke came down and scored at the other end to make it 5-1 going into the half.  After CMS scored the opening goal of the second half, sophomore Hope Grant answered with a penalty shot and then added another goal in the fourth to make it 7-2. 

Grant was the only player with two goals for the Sagehens, as seniors Chrissie Alving-Trinh, Sarah Westcott, Alyssa Woodward and Mahalia Prater-Fahey joined Snow and Burke with single goals.  

Pomona-Pitzer concludes the regular season at Cal Lutheran on Saturday and will then be the top seed in the SCIAC Tournament next weekend, opening play on Friday at 5:30 p.m. against the winner of the play-in between the No. 8 and No. 9 seeds (which will be at 1 p.m.).