To Breaks Sagehen Butterfly Record At Winter Invite

To Breaks Sagehen Butterfly Record At Winter Invite

Commerce, Calif. - Freshman Samuel To (pictured) broke the school record in the 100-yard butterfly (50.34) to highlight the second day of the Collegiate Winter Invitational on Saturday. 

To's time of 50.34 placed him second in the meet just .16 behind Hunter Sa-Nguansap of Concordia (Irvine) of the NAIA and just ahead of his older brother Daniel To in third place (51.86). The old Pomona-Pitzer record of 50.71 had held for 21 years since 1993, when it was set by James Rosenthal. 

Daniel To then finished in first place in his top event, the 100-yard backstroke, breaking his own meet record with a 50.85, and finishing ahead of Samuel To in second (51.54). Daniel To's 50.85 is also an NCAA "B" cut. 

Freshman Mark Hallman earned a second-place finish in the 200-yard freestyle with a 1:43.43, placing him second behind Martino Cervera of Concordia.  That ties him for the second best time in school history with Thomas Kendall, who had a 1:43.43 in 1988, the same year that Steve Smith set the school record in 1:40.70. 

Hugh Berryman finished in first place in the 50-yard freestyle with a 21.16 and Kyle Dalrymple added a third-place finish in the 100-yard breaststroke in 58.75. The Sagehens closed out the day with a first-place finish in the 400-yard medley relay with a 3:27.19, with the To brothers, Dalrymple and Hallman edging out Concordia. The 200-yard freestyle relay began the day with the Sagehen team finishing second (Eirik Hansen, Hallman, Ferrel Atkins and Berryman). 

On the women's side, the Sagehens had three second-place finishes, including senior Vicky Gyorffy in the 200-yard freestyle (1:55.59), sophomore Cayla Nishizaki in the 50-yard freestyle (24.76) and senior Jackie Tran in the 100-yard backstroke, who came in just under a minute (59.98). Freshman Kara Miller-Radest was third in the 100-yard butterfly (59.02). 

The third day of the Collegiate Winter Invitational will take place tomorrow with 10 a.m. prelims and 5 p.m. finals.