Women's Water Polo: Fourteen Sagehens Earn ACWPC All-Academic Awards

Women's Water Polo: Fourteen Sagehens Earn ACWPC All-Academic Awards

CLAREMONT, CA — Fourteen Sagehens have received 2017 All-Academic Awards the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (AWPC) announced.

Players must have a GPA of at least 3.2 to be recognized. The awards are broken down into three different categories: Outstanding (4.0-3.71), Superior (3.7-3.41), and Excellent (3.5-3.2).

"We are excited to have so many academic award winners," said Sagehen Water Polo Head Coach Alex Rodriguez. "We are truly proud of the women's success in the classroom and the pool."

Anna Yu, Christina Williamson, Crystal Huang, Hope Grant, and Morgan Stockham were recognized as Outstanding for their achievements in the classroom. Williamsom had an outstanding season in the pool as well, earning Division III and SCIAC Player of the Year honors. 

Six Sagehens received Superior honors from the AWPC. Erica Halaszynski, Bella Villa, Maddie Kauahi, Morgan McCracken, Natalie Hill, and Sasha Newton each earned the distinction.

Janelle Lewis, Kyla Pickell, and Nohea Kahaulelio also made their way onto the list, earning Excellent recognition.

The Sagehens finished the 2017 season with a SCIAC Championship in a 9-3 win over Whitter College in the title game, and earned a trip to the NCAA Opening-Round Game. Four Sagehens earned both All-American and All-SCIAC honors.

Complete List

Download the Sagehen App
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Instagram